Coelho Award Winners

The award was named after the Honorable Tony Coelho, author of the Americans with Disabilities Act, which was signed into law on July 26, 1990, by President George H.W. Bush. This award is presented to a CEO, President, or government leader who has demonstrated a significant commitment to employ people with disabilities in competitive positions, and worked to influence other business and/or government leaders. This award is to honor the work of Tony Coelho, the author of the Americans with Disabilities Act – a true civil rights leader of people with disabilities.

2023: Valerie Jarrett, CEO, Obama Foundation

2018: David Holmberg, CEO, Highmark Health

2011: John Berry, Director, Office of Personnel Management

2010: NSA

2009: Senator Richard J. Durbin, Assistant Majority Leader, US Senate

2007: Mark Boxer, President and CEO of WellPoint’s Operations, Technology and Government Services Business Unit

2006: Greg Babe, President and CEO of Bayer MaterialScience

2005: Congressman Steny Hoyer

2004: Paul Cofoni, President – Federal Sector, Computer Sciences Corporation

2003: Dr. Kenneth Melani, CEO, Highmark Blue Cross Blue Shield

2002: Diana Burke, Sr. Vice President of Information Security Systems and Technology, Royal Bank of Canada

2001: Russ Owen, President of Global Infrastructure Services, Computer Sciences Corporation


Valerie Jarrett

Valerie Jarrett, CEO, Obama Foundation